Controller of the Year Awards – Winners Announced

Chicago, IL—May 3, 2021—Winners of the 2020 Controller of the Year Awards have been selected after a nomination period and judging process that began in January of this year. The first annual program is produced by the Controllers Council, a member association and community focused on training and career development, peer interaction, and recognition.

The awards program is free to both Controllers Council members and non-members, and available to Corporate Controllers and related titles that have controller responsibilities including VPs, Chief Accounting Officers, and more. Applicants can self-nominate or be nominated by a colleague via a brief online survey that requests anonymous information on 2020 financial performance, work experience, volunteer or philanthropic activities, and educational background.

All nominations were screened by an algorithm and judged by Controllers Council Board Members. Winners are announced for 5 categories based on size and type, along with public or private classifications, and Runners-Up, where applicable.

Category/Classification 2020 Winners Company Job Title
Startup/Public/Winner Kevin Yankton Varex Imaging CAO/Controller
Startup/Private/Winner Julie Kinnard FreightWise Controller
Not-For-Profit/Winner Denye’ Versher Easter Seals VP Finance
Not-For-Profit/Runner-Up Tasha Fox Osage Nation Controller
Small/Public/Winner Kim Ausk Laird Superfood Controller
Small/Private/Winner Michael Chernoff Hypori Controller
Small/Private/Runner-Up Chris Brubaker OnlineMedEd Controller
Medium/Public/Winner Brenna Albert Cresco Labs EVP/Controller
Medium/Public/Runner-Up Faisal Rusho Medable, Inc. Controller
Medium/Private/Winner Daniel Bradley L.Keeley Construction Controller
Medium/Private/Runner-Up Brad Koch Hungry Marketplace Controller
Enterprise/Public/Winner Brandt Kucharski Grubhub CAO/Controller
Enterprise/Public/Runner-Up Liz Johnigan Controller
Enterprise/Private/Winner Neha Mehta M S International Corp. Controller

Finally, from the category winners above, a 2020 National Controller of the Year was selected based on the same criteria: Brandt Kucharski, Grubhub.

All winners will be notified by email and receive a frame-quality Certificate. The 2020 National Controller of the Year will receive a gold-plated and engraved statuette/trophy manufactured by the makers of the Oscar® Awards.

“Controllers and corporate finance executives proved their critical importance in 2020 more than ever, and the Controllers Council seeks to recognize these individuals”, states Neil Brown, Controllers Council Executive Director. “The Controller of the Year Awards gives long overdue recognition to the executives that propelled their organizations through the most tumultuous business environment in modern history.”

A virtual “Red Carpet” event will be held Thursday, June 10, 1 PM CST to meet and interview award winners. Register to attend here:

Registration for the 2021 Controller of the Year Awards will begin in December of this year at the following link:

Get the latest news and important resources sent directly to your inbox: