2021 Controller of the Year Awards – Winners Announced

Chicago, IL—February 21, 2022—Winners of the 2021 Controller of the Year Awards have been selected after a nomination period and judging process that began in December 2021. The second annual program is produced by the Controllers Council, a member association and community focused on career development and resources, peer interaction, and recognition.

Corporate Controllers and related titles that have Controller responsibilities including VPs, Chief Accounting Officers, CFOs and related are eligible to enter. Applicants can self-nominate or be nominated by a colleague via a brief online survey that requests anonymous information on 2021 financial performance, work experience, volunteer or philanthropic activities, and educational background. Entry is complimentary to both members and non-members.

All nominations were screened by an algorithm, and then judged by Controllers Council Board Members. Winners and Runners-Up are announced for 6 categories based on size and type, along with public or private classifications, where applicable.

Category/Classification 2021 Winners Company       Title
Startup/Private/Winner Jon Mazzanti Cameo     Controller
Startup/Private/Runner-Up Andrew Sparling Strike VP Finance/Controller
Not-For-Profit/Winner          Jessica McClain Girl Scouts (Nation’s Capital)  CFO/Controller
Not-For-Profit/Runner-Up Jonathan Spackman Brigham Young Univ. IT CFO/Controller
Small/Private/Winner Jessica Lopez           IDX VP/Corp. Controller
Small/Private/Runner-Up Jason Lin Centage CFO/Controller
Medium/Public/Winner Paul Henderson       Tipalti             Global Controller
Medium/Public/Runner-Up Joe Steinmetz Chesapeake Utilities VP/Controller
Medium/Private/Winner Faisal Rusho Medable, Inc. Controller
Medium/Private/Runner-Up Zach Blaine Expel, Inc. VP/Corp. Controller
Medium/Private/Runner-Up Jennifer Beougher Ruby Slipper (Rest.Group) CFO/Controller
Enterprise/Public/Winner Brenna Albert Cresco Labs EVP/Controller
Enterprise/Public/Runner-Up Kevin Coyne EMD Serono (Div. Merck) Controller
Enterprise/Public/Runner-Up Melanie Lazzari  S&T Bancorp, Inc. EVP/Controller
Enterprise/Private/Winner Aimee Moore Spartronics, LLC Corp. Controller
Government/Winner Nita Nigam HUD   Asst. CFO/Accounting
Government/Runner-Up Kristin Brunetto Blackfeet Tribe Controller
National Winner Brenna Albert Cresco Labs EVP/Controller

Finally, from the category winners above, a 2021 National Controller of the Year was selected based on the same criteria:  Brenna Albert, Cresco Labs.

All winners will be notified by email and receive a frame-quality Certificate. The 2021 National Controller of the Year will receive a gold-plated and engraved statuette/trophy manufactured by the makers of the Oscar® Awards.

“Once again, Controllers and corporate finance executives proved their importance in 2021, and the Controller of the Year Awards brings much deserved recognition to these hard-working individuals”, states Neil Brown, Controllers Council Executive Director. “The Controllers Council is proud to be support the corporate finance industry during these challenging and unprecedented times.”

A “Virtual Red Carpet” event will be held Wednesday April 27, 1 PM CST to meet and interview award winners, register here:  https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/1893767363081859600

Registration for the 2022 Controller of the Year Awards will begin December 1, 2022 at the following link: https://controllerscouncil.org/recognition/

Get the latest news and important resources sent directly to your inbox: